Sponsored by AICTE, New Delhi

  • Entrepreneurship
  • About EDC

        The EDC was established with the project proposal submitted to AICTE, New Delhi, on 5-2-2011 by Dr. S. Maragatham, Dean, Faculty of Engineering and Dr. Rymala Mathen, Asst. Professor, Science and Humanities and has been sanctioned under the scheme RIFD/EDC, 2010-11 on 31st March 2011for a period of three years with an amount of  Rs. 7.05 lakhs (4 lakhs for recurring expenditure and Rs. 3.05 lakhs for non recurring expenditure) with Dr. Rymala Mathen as the Chief Coordinator.

    To become an acknowledged resource centre for technology based women entrepreneurship of world class standards with the necessary support & facilities through entrepreneurship education, training, research & institution building.

    Avinashilingam EDC will act as a repository of knowledge in the area of women entrepreneurship development and create an enabling environment to develop an entrepreneurial culture in the region thus creating women Technopreneurs through community based entrepreneurship education, training, research & institution building.
    Advisory committee

    • Chief Patron- Managing Trustee (Sri Avinashilingam Trust Institutions)
    • Patron - Chancellor, Avinashilingam Deemed University for Women, Coimbatore
    • Chair person- vice chancellor
    • Co chair person- Registrar
    • Committee members:
    • Convenor- Chief coordinator, Entrepreneurship Development Cell

    Staff Profile

    Name of the faculty Designation Specialization Year of joining Mail-Id
    Dr. Rymala Mathen Chief Coordinator, EDC M.Sc , M.Phil, Ph.D Resource Management &Interior Design, PG Diploma in Communicative English, and
    Entrepreneurship Development
    1990 in Faculty of Home Science &
    2008 in Faculty of Engineering
  • Projects
  • Activities

    Programmes Conducted under EDC

    S.No Programme Year/ duration Beneficiaries
    1 Entrepreneurship Awareness Camps 2011-12(6+2)
    3 days each
    Final B.E and B.Sc Students = 535
    2 Entrepreneurship Awareness Camps 2012-13 (3+1)
    3 days each
    Final B.E and B.Sc Students = 339
    3 Entrepreneurship Awareness Camps 2013-14 (5 )
    3 days each
    Final B.E and B.Sc Students = 349
    4 Women Entrepreneurship Development Programme
    Sponsored by EDI India, DST-NIMAT programme.
    4weeks duration)
    11 Women Graduates
    5 National summer Training Programme (NSTP 2016) on Android Apps Development by Revert Technology Pvt. Ltd. New Delhi In association with EDC IIT, Roorkee. 18th to 23rd July 2016 24 students from III &IV B.E and MCA attended the programme and received the certificates.
    6 TEDPs (Technology Based Entrepreneurship Development Programmes)
    i Drying Technology for the production of Value Added foods for development of entrepreneurial skills in food processing 1st September -19th October 2016 35 budding entrepreneurs
    ii Technical Hands on Training Programme in Total station and GIS Sep 15th to Oct 27th, 2016 27 graduates and Diploma holders
    7 E Week Celebrations 14th -17th February 2012 All faculty of Engineering students
    8 Skill Development Programmes (5 numbers) 2012-13
    2014-15 ( 2 days)
    Students -285
    9 Kovai Vizha E Fest 2014 04-02-2014 One day All University students
    10 Competitions    
    i Demiurgic Business 2013 (Business plan competition) 19-27th January 2013 45 students B.E and Arts and Science students
    ii Flameless Cookery competition 18-3-16 130 B.E students
    11 Guest Lectures 15 All B.E students
    12 Motivational Programmes 12 Students of ECE department
    13 Personality Development and Assessment 7 400 B.E Final year students and I B.E IT students
    14 "Orientation Programme on Innovation and Entrepreneurship" 20th Sept. 2016 I BE Engineering 192
    15 Startup Activation Programme In association with KCT FORGE 2-2-2017
    35 B.E Students
    16 Wadhwani LEARNWISE Edcast
    In Association with NEN
    21-2-2017 to 10th March 2017 30 BE Students
    17 Faculty Training Programme sanctioned by RGNIYD Sriperumbudur, T.Nadu 18th -25th January 2017 23 faculty members